Author Topic: Creating Original Samples  (Read 1545 times)

catlikethief

  • Subsonic
  • Posts: 9
  • Honor: 0
    • https://soundcloud.com/djcatlikethief
    • https://twitter.com/djcatlikethief
    • View Profile
Creating Original Samples
« on: September 28, 2016, 05:13:26 pm »
Hey guys I'm wondering if any of you know how to create your own samples using something you've created in your DAW. For example: I took 3 or 4 different kicks and EQ'd the parts I wanted from each one and added effects and whatnot to make one very solid sounding kick. I tried saving it as a sample so that I can use it in future projects and not have to do all that stuff again but the way it saves doesn't allow me to change the notes anymore. For instance, if the kick I made is in D, when I save it I can only use that note, if I try to change it they all sound the same so I'm clearly doing it wrong. Any ideas? I'm using FL 10 BTW

eidolon

  • Administrator
  • Sub Bass
  • *****
  • Posts: 111
  • Honor: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Original Samples
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2016, 06:27:43 pm »
if this is what i think it is, UGH I HATE THIS ISSUE!

try looking under the Time Stretching section of the sampler, and adjust the pitch/mult/time to be back at "none." sometimes FL does that to samples in order to preserve what it thinks is the tempo, at the expense of being able to change the pitch. think of like, when you play a vinyl record faster, the pitch rises -- here FL is adjusting the speed of the sample but keeping the pitch the same, only it really doesnt need to because its a single drum hit. i think.

alternatively, you could load it into the Edison audio editor, which is extremely useful anyway and you should take some time to mess with!!
check out the chat!! you can join here.

vinceasot

  • Low Mid
  • **
  • Posts: 352
  • Honor: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Original Samples
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2016, 02:39:52 am »
you just freeze the tracks and convert to audio

catlikethief

  • Subsonic
  • Posts: 9
  • Honor: 0
    • https://soundcloud.com/djcatlikethief
    • https://twitter.com/djcatlikethief
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Original Samples
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2016, 05:43:08 pm »
if this is what i think it is, UGH I HATE THIS ISSUE!

try looking under the Time Stretching section of the sampler, and adjust the pitch/mult/time to be back at "none." sometimes FL does that to samples in order to preserve what it thinks is the tempo, at the expense of being able to change the pitch. think of like, when you play a vinyl record faster, the pitch rises -- here FL is adjusting the speed of the sample but keeping the pitch the same, only it really doesnt need to because its a single drum hit. i think.

This seems to have worked. Thank you!

SampleAddict

  • Subsonic
  • Posts: 4
  • Honor: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Original Samples
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2017, 07:42:03 pm »
Bounce to audio. Then load into a sampler of your choosing. Map the sample across the keys you want it to play in. Done. :)

Tieme Typhonic

  • Sub Bass
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Honor: 1
    • Typhonic-Samples
    • TyphonicSamples
    • View Profile
    • Typhonic Samples
Re: Creating Original Samples
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2017, 12:35:34 pm »
I see that the question is already a bit old, but for others with the same question:

In FL Studio it's best to use edison when saving samples so you can clean up your sample (you can also delete or add loop points in edison). After saving a sample and throwing it back in FL, you can change the root note in the envelope tab. (Click on your sample in the pattern view and go to the second tab) FL's default root note is C, but when you have a sample at D, you can change it to D3 for example so that your sample is at D3 in the piano roll.