Author Topic: How long did it take you to get to the point in music you're in now?  (Read 5924 times)

Adam Tell

• Subsonic
  • Honor: 0
    • https://soundcloud.com/adam-tell
    • https://twitter.com/aTellTweets
    • View Profile
Re: How long did it take you to get to the point in music you're in now?
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2016, 01:49:39 am »
About 8 years before I started releasing my music "professionally." During that time, I did a lot of transcribing of jazz and rock tunes with some originals interspersed, but it was all strictly for the enjoyment of it. About 2 years ago I turned on the discipline and started releasing only originals. That 8-year period was crucial to my development of a style though.

Final Kindgom

• Sub Bass
  • Honor: 15
    • final-kindgom
    • Final_Kindgom
    • View Profile
Re: How long did it take you to get to the point in music you're in now?
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2016, 03:03:26 am »
I've been producing for 8 months (February will make it 9). I've been playing piano since 2008 and I've picked up a couple of instruments along the way. I started producing my sophomore year of high school due to a music program I went to, but it didn't stick because I didn't have access to a DAW at home. A friend of mine encouraged me to start producing for real, so I did it and never looked back. Almost every song I make, I can hear improvement. Whether it's mixing or sound design, I can hear the difference in quality. The improvements feel like they are less noticeable so I could be plateauing now, but I know they are there and that's fine with me.