The Producer's Forum

Production Talk => Samples/Plugins/Software/Gear => Topic started by: SomeCollege on January 06, 2016, 12:00:10 pm

Title: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: SomeCollege on January 06, 2016, 12:00:10 pm
Do all the worlds top producers have an Access Virus?  I don't have one, but I think I'll be getting one soon. Anybody here have one?
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: John Norlin on January 06, 2016, 12:56:35 pm
Haha I appreciate the title's wording. :D :D
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: MΔTT on January 06, 2016, 01:05:14 pm
Having a Virus definitely isn't a 'must-have' and not all top producers have one, but if ever you can afford one, just go for it :) It does help to have one, especially for specific genres.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: BrienWithAnE on January 06, 2016, 02:00:05 pm
It's a long term goal of mine to get one.  Probably isn't a "necessity" but probably a secret weapon for a lot of producers.  Headhunterz has made some of his popular lead sounds with a virus.  (From his producer masterclass, found on YouTube)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Kyle King on January 06, 2016, 03:48:05 pm
They've been on my radar for a while, and with the Snow coming out, I think I might try and get one this year. I love the sounds they make.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: deathy on January 06, 2016, 05:51:33 pm
OK, that's funny... I originally read the topic as "Do all the top producers pirate their stuff and end up with infected computers?"
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Jamie on January 06, 2016, 06:17:56 pm
I have the TI2 Desktop, I want to say that I recommend it, but I'll be honest - it's flaky as hell when it comes to using it via their VST/USB hookup. I suspect it's a great bit of gear when you're using it outside of their VST hookup (so as a classic bit of hardware with audio out to a mixer or something) but generally I find I dislike the majority of integration flaws it has.

In terms of sound, if you're after a really thick supersaw, great.. if you're after very clear/crisp sounds and really wide sounds, it's great. But yeah, for me, that's where it ends... the implementation is a nightmare.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Thyristor on January 06, 2016, 06:34:52 pm
I have the TI2 Desktop, I want to say that I recommend it, but I'll be honest - it's flaky as hell when it comes to using it via their VST/USB hookup. I suspect it's a great bit of gear when you're using it outside of their VST hookup (so as a classic bit of hardware with audio out to a mixer or something) but generally I find I dislike the majority of integration flaws it has.

In terms of sound, if you're after a really thick supersaw, great.. if you're after very clear/crisp sounds and really wide sounds, it's great. But yeah, for me, that's where it ends... the implementation is a nightmare.

Iv never used the TI2 but i can honestly say iv never had any problems using a Virus B by only sending midi commands to the virus and then running audio back into FL Studio through my Scarlett. The only real issue iv run into is FL Studios inability to support hardware properly and sometimes latency issues if im running lots effects in FL. perhaps you could run your TI2 in the old school fashion?
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Jamie on January 06, 2016, 07:45:41 pm
I have the TI2 Desktop, I want to say that I recommend it, but I'll be honest - it's flaky as hell when it comes to using it via their VST/USB hookup. I suspect it's a great bit of gear when you're using it outside of their VST hookup (so as a classic bit of hardware with audio out to a mixer or something) but generally I find I dislike the majority of integration flaws it has.

In terms of sound, if you're after a really thick supersaw, great.. if you're after very clear/crisp sounds and really wide sounds, it's great. But yeah, for me, that's where it ends... the implementation is a nightmare.

Iv never used the TI2 but i can honestly say iv never had any problems using a Virus B by only sending midi commands to the virus and then running audio back into FL Studio through my Scarlett. The only real issue iv run into is FL Studios inability to support hardware properly and sometimes latency issues if im running lots effects in FL. perhaps you could run your TI2 in the old school fashion?

I do sometimes think of going down that route, in fact from time to time I do use it for resample work but ultimately it's hassle, I'm a lazy creature and I love to drag and drop VSTs more than deal with latency issues. :D

Glad you have more use for yours though, it's great to see others finding their gear worthwhile!
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: tanuki on January 06, 2016, 08:27:45 pm
I bought a Virus TI Snow for Christmas a few years ago, it's the most expensive paperweight I've ever owned!
Yes, you can make really amazing sounds with it and it's fun to use, but softsynths these days give hardware a run for its money.
Don't get me wrong it definitely is worth it, but there are other options out there that are less expensive.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Luke Bond on January 06, 2016, 10:40:30 pm
I used to own a Ti snow back in 2009. They we're definitely used more back then than today, you can get pretty dam good results using soft synths and decent processing with todays plugins.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: samablah on January 07, 2016, 12:11:04 am
I had a virus ti2, but I sold it, honestly you can dial in and make the same sounds with a vst, might take longer/more layers and effects, but I thought the ti2 kind of ruined my workflow. Maybe I'm just not a hardware person and didn't spend enough time with it, but I work much better and faster with like, spire for example.

I had a blast playing with actual hardware though, turning nobs and effects with my hands was amazing, I would just get lost for hours playing with it :)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Mat_Zo on January 07, 2016, 12:13:36 am
I know a few top producers personally, and none of them have a virus. Hope that cleared things up :)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Gary Maguire on January 07, 2016, 12:33:00 am
No not at all, today's standards of synth's are just as capable. What I do suggest is get to know your synth. Make it sing  ;)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: SomeCollege on January 07, 2016, 10:36:13 am
Thanks for the response.  It's pretty much what In have heard in the past. A lot of people have A Virus Ti, but they are mixed in their opinions of them. They run the gamut from "paper weight" to "need to use it more" to "bad DAW sync issues". I'll think I'll stick with my soft synths for now. I trust the opinion of this forum.
Thanks for clearing things up.
Rob
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Yens on January 07, 2016, 10:53:24 am
It might be a nice addition to your studio, but i don't think it's really necessary. The sounds you can make with a Virus, could be made in a soft synth.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: itsamox on January 07, 2016, 02:14:12 pm
I feel like all semi known/known producers have a Nord Stage 2, I see it everywhere
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: JamesSweeneyy on January 07, 2016, 02:18:14 pm
(http://www.bhphotovideo.com/images/images1000x1000/avg_av16n12en001_avg_antivirus_2016_1188691.jpg)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: RubendeRonde on January 07, 2016, 04:05:28 pm
I got the Snow, and it's great, BUT I have to say I use soft synths more than the virus.
Sometimes I want to have a freaky sound, than I'll bounce some audio out of it. The reverbs are insane though!
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: producer_chick on January 07, 2016, 04:10:19 pm
Haha Rob, sounds like you've cleaned your studio and the Mrs is happy ;-) Cool!

I've had the Ti2 for a while and it's one thing I'll never sell.

Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: SomeCollege on January 07, 2016, 08:03:57 pm
Haha Rob, sounds like you've cleaned your studio and the Mrs is happy ;-) Cool!

I've had the Ti2 for a while and it's one thing I'll never sell.

Hi Danyella!

No, I haven't cleaned my studio yet....LOL. I am really still just wondering about getting a Virus Snow, even though my wife would buy it for me. Glad to see you here :)

Rob
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: FarleyCZ on January 07, 2016, 11:14:53 pm
...that AVG image.
  ;D ;D ;D :D :D :D :D
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Spectrym on January 08, 2016, 04:41:47 am
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaxyGbT1sfY

I think this is a great video to show how well serum handles sound compared to the virus.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: wolv on January 08, 2016, 04:54:22 am
Who cares?

You can do killer sound design with bare stock synths.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: mattlange on January 08, 2016, 05:20:47 am
It's a great synth.  Nothing in software really sounds like it, which is somewhat bizarre since it in itself is essentially software.  It's beautifully wide and sounds much more alive than your average VA soft synth.  I used to use the granular/formant synthesis side of it a ton.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Danyella on January 12, 2016, 02:41:53 am
Haha Rob, sounds like you've cleaned your studio and the Mrs is happy ;-) Cool!

I've had the Ti2 for a while and it's one thing I'll never sell.

Hi Danyella!

No, I haven't cleaned my studio yet....LOL. I am really still just wondering about getting a Virus Snow, even though my wife would buy it for me. Glad to see you here :)

Rob

Sounds like your wife is pretty awesome, Rob :-) Never had the Snow, had the Ti2 keyboard but sold it, the rack version is great though, it's sitting on an IKEA picture frame wall mount which it fits in perfectly at a tilted angle right on your desk if you cut the ends off of it.

Yeah never really been a forum person, but I guess I'll stick around here :-)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Thyristor on January 12, 2016, 02:48:22 am
I own a virus, does this make me a top producer
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: Austin K on January 14, 2016, 04:56:09 pm
If you have Serum, you can find the Virus wavetables online and load them into the synth. That's my compromise. I'm sure there are some differences in how the result sounds.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: cryophonik on January 14, 2016, 05:41:43 pm
I've owned pretty much every Virus model ever made (A, B, C, XL, Polar TI, destktop TI) and I've owned my TI2 keyboard for about 5-6 years now.  It's a great synth, top build, excellent sound, very flexible/deep, and it has by far the best synth keybed I've ever played or owned, so it makes for a great controller for my soft synths and my Nord 4 Rack.  I grew up on hardware synths back in the 80s/90s, so that really influences my preferences.  If you want a really great hardware synth for any style of electronic music, the Virus is pretty much a no-brainer IMO.  But, as others have mentioned, it's not a necessity if your only objective is to get a good sound, so I doubt that all "top producers" use one these days.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: neotron on May 26, 2017, 03:51:40 pm
I still love Access Virus, the virtual version (https://synthmorph.com/blogs/news/tagged/access-virus) works reliably and fully in the box.

Can still amaze me after so many years...
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: neotron on June 23, 2017, 12:54:34 pm
A fun post for today about the possible future (or lack of) of the Access Virus synthesizer:

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/3livr2IddmX4Ljdu8u6RTSSyzAtiPgZGLTGA-XeEy4znzXQap0Cu84upU6sCbJUs4ytuUeRthXD0jW0Y0of8c_58x72l-fIpX5ZrWUXw7c0ubpFWGpAYZ6FO3YRIihvTjLNIw4e52jzCBCVeI0GTTQClI2hmgq2HvJahKNsOw8wrgsgD7eMOPLBQbHG8S00nXje8TNI68_tAevcCYO8NrZDBT_Xi4Lqfh1KB_oOyJEfePeAqPolXHcCpj7RbgUSl-13TiRDAKxy5qhUhJyw3lVJ4KuX7VlxgjCCzp6KEpu2DTPz6WJRDzF-ia5b9KpqLm8K1xddkI7T86LKLLzTzN86SR9cRqLdue55yPgLVO14XU6mVBoo-dkEAg6_CicX3hWxQw-jGce6s4P1CljbCX4ClRMf109Dfcb0ad3A_cxcO_2YOf6dG-BAynVhoFBvnRmWNW7VI5OFKckVEjQecQCcjSAEiMmIravEibOvxXr09VsEVD-n-2Qb6_DoXjHfn1xqhyxzxaNkMol1KwZGaTrfTqPBKzSWesEFvr2L05FGAuUwdRvnKFO1qgKfwRXq8sGXNFYFwrd5Pwd2YT8s4IdQ4TjAF1a-yill_-bd1QYcc_Agt=w843-h500-no) (https://synthmorph.com/blogs/news/access-virus-future-kemper-amp-virus-ti3)
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: fife on June 27, 2017, 03:47:34 pm
I have to agree with some of the setup and sync gripes that are raised here. Occasionally the virus won't load up a custom patch from a project correctly, or it falls out of sync with the master midi clock. I've noticed it is more reliable with a mac than on my PC. Often, I'll connect the virus ti to a macbook and slave the midi clock to my pc and send the audioaudio interface inputs.
Title: Re: Do All the Top Producers Have a Virus?
Post by: neotron on December 14, 2017, 10:53:17 am
This is where the fun begins: Access Virus driven by a Synthmorph sequence - click!

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/EXtRLB0GtxlyoH8GFL5nmjaUXZtkTTFEWTWWxsSuQ8qfx4tiW2mWYWxJ-kyyXIFe_K8vBrPRLoM-koEfmAeDkcxgGWRAZX6G0LKtrzBpS_QS7xa36BfCxUYR9fMCmmPvEfjjgGDP-RF6Jdouq4SRJUvN_rprRHgAzGeqFsQZSiloEm3bkreYSO2UEpHOHzvsKK9D5yeWgWFbeTtSDYp66gc88J0c-O_xcnU45aqeBWj3sM51N0O8ZUltV0rwgMG3vp7hhqhkNHjh1VbX72qkdIR0Lxs64r7bUszOhcGf_WrF4pjR3688sju26T8qBpFKO8SQpA7TSDmJK6s-7TdEZ3KhPHIh82OHFSsX_0YqDk18lBabqI4ZabTWJYhOeNumjGqjkZZn8WLCY7zvcICFFcpG0jGrmUl_2ieqKpMCwPwW3GPSpps4QTJ63Nl6TPXziOXnHntBRm1p5SKgJNVzp-yPYhRyCUuTbYRVMfoDvE8Ma2n1if10HHP1dpwZ6h7MF3ncC-0PmkTSnu0fPNdhyNpb8-KcnWCCNLHC1BZO-XvhBZ_OHLnp4Zqmk1JyXosxyqkFT03VLZ7nImO7Kw20P9HYnsQ2iJGgAkD6TTnsOA=w716-h456-no) (https://synthmorph.com/collections/all/access-virus)